Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University. Both translators and publishers are invited to submit titles.

Recent winners include Red Pine (2010), Charles Egan (2011), Don Mee Choi (2012 & 2019), Lucas Klein (2013), Jonathan Chaves (2014), Eleanor Goodman (2015), Sawako Nakayasu (2016), Jennifer Feeley (2017), and Bonnie Huie (2018). 

To be eligible for the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be: 

  • book-length translations of poetry into English
  • OR source texts from (but solely not commentaries on) Zen Buddhism
  • translations from Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, Kannada, Korean, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, or Vietnamese into English 
  • published in the previous calendar year

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

Submissions are accepted beginning in January each year. The deadline for nominating books published in 2018 was April 15, 2019. 

How to Submit:

1. Complete the entry form online (Deadline: April 15, 2019).

2. Send hard copies of the book(s) submitted to the judges requesting them. Publishers will receive the addresses to use as part of the online entry confirmation email. Please do not send hard copies of the book to ALTA directly. Books sent to ALTA will not be considered submitted for the award.