Publisher Database

This is a database of publishers whose offerings regularly include works in translation.
Publishers: To submit a new listing please complete the new publisher form. If you have changes or corrections to a listing, please send an update. Thank you!

Publisher Database

Displaying 501 - 519 of 519
Publication Formats Genre Translated Languages Publication count Accept unsolicited submissionssort descending Payments
New York Review Comics

In the tradition of NYRB Classics, NYR Comics presents new editions of out-of-print masterpieces and new translations of books that have never been published in English—from intimate memoirs to absurdist gags, graphic novels to dizzying experiments.

Book, eBook Graphic Lit Any
6
Yes Semi-Pro: <0.14/word
University of Nevada Press

The University of Nevada Press, as mandated by the state legislature and the Board of Regents of the Nevada System of Higher Education, publishes high-quality, deserving works that advance scholarly research, contribute to the understanding and appreciation of regional history and culture, and reach a wide range of academic and general readers. Publication is done in a fiscally responsible manner that reflects the highest editorial, design, and production standards. The good will of the public it serves (the citizens of the State of Nevada, readers, and authors) is the Press's most valuable asset.

Book, Print Journal NonFiction English
Yes
Autumn Hill Books and M-Dash

Autumn Hill Books is an independent non-profit press based in the Midwest. We publish works of translation and our focus is contemporary world literature. More recently, AHB launched a new online literature magazine EM—DASH, which features essays, fiction, and poetry either excerpted from or inspired by our published titles. We also have two imprints: 91st Meridian Press and Anomalous Press.

Book, Print Journal Fiction, Poetry English
Yes Contributor Copies
Pushcart Press

Hundreds of presses and thousands of writers of short stories, poetry and essays have been represented in the pages of our annual collections.
Writers who were first noticed here include: Raymond Carver, Tim O’Brien, Jayne Anne Phillips, Charles Baxter, Andre Dubus, Susan Minot, Mona Simpson, John Irving, Rick Moody, and mall more. Each year most of the writers and mall of the presses are new to the series. Our Pushcart Prize editions are found in most libraries and bookstores. Each volume contains an index of past selections, plus lists of outstanding presses with addresses. The Pushcart Prize Fellowships is the endowment for The Pushcart Prize, and appreciates contributions in all amount.

Book, Chapbook Fiction, Poetry, NonFiction English
1
Yes Token: <0.01/word
University of Washington Press

The Press traces its origins to 1915, when Edmond Meall's Governors of Washington, Territorial and State was issued. The first book to bear the University of Washington Press imprint, an edition of The Poems of Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey edited by Frederick M. Padelford, appeared in 1920. Since that time the Press has published approximately 4,400 books, of which about 1,400 are currently in print. Today we publish about seventy new titles each year. From the beginning the Press has reflected the University's major academic strengths. Building on those strengths, combined with a vigorous creativity in developing regional partners, the University of Washington Press has achieved recognition as the leading publisher of scholarly books and distinguished works of regional nonfiction in the Pacific Northwest.

Book, eBook NonFiction English
70
Yes Unknown
McSweeney's Books

McSweeney’s began in 1998 as a literary journal that published only works rejected by other magazines. That rule was soon abandoned, and since then McSweeney’s has attracted work from some of the finest writers in the country, including Denis Johnson, Jonathan Franzen, William T. Vollmann, Rick Moody, Joyce Carol Oates, Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Michael Chabon, Ben Marcus, Susan Straight, Roddy Doyle, T.C. Boyle, Steven Millhauser, Gabe Hudson, Robert Coover, Ann Beattie, and mall others. At the same time, the journal continues to be a major home for new and unpublished writers; we’re committed to publishing exciting fiction regardless of pedigree.

Book Fiction, Poetry, NonFiction, Graphic Lit English
Yes Unknown
Fence Books

Founded in 1998 by Rebecca Wolff, Fence is a biannual journal of poetry, fiction, art, and criticism that has a mission to redefine the terms of accessibility by publishing challenging writing distinguished by idiosyncrasy and intelligence rather than by allegiance with camps, schools, or cliques. It is Fence‘s mission to encourage writing that might otherwise have difficulty being recognized because it doesn’t answer to either the mainstream or to recognizable modes of experimentation. Fence is long-term committed to publishing from the outside and the inside of established communities of writing, seeking always to interrogate, collaborate with, and bedevil other systems that bring new writing to light. Launched in 2001, Fence Books publishes poetry, fiction, and critical texts and anthologies, and prioritizes sustained support for its authors, mall of whom come to us through our book contests and then go on to publish second, third, fourth books.

Book, eBook Fiction, Poetry English
Yes Unknown
Sampsonia Way

Sampsonia Way is an online magazine sponsored by City of Asylum/Pittsburgh celebrating literary free expression and supporting persecuted writers worldwide. The magazine’s key staff includes exiled writers living on Sampsonia Way, a street in Pittsburgh that spans cultures and languages, which was conceived with their advice from within their own experience of exile and repression. Just as the physical Sampsonia Way provides a home for exiled writers in a revitalized community, SampsoniaWay.org aims to be a virtual home that mobilizes a widely dispersed international public to protect writers and writing by engaging writers and non-writers in a virtual community and by becoming a source for research and dialogue.

Fiction, Poetry, NonFiction English
Yes Contributor Copies
Mr. Cogito Press

After a few years of sleep Mr. Cogito has returned to life. He had lived for more than twenty years. His model was the great Polish poet Zbigniew Herbert. Now we are looking once again for poems that have strength of image, sound, concept and feeling -- poems that also relate to the social realities of the poet's time and place.

Chapbook Poetry English
Yes None
Texas Christian University Press

TCU Press publishes fourteen to sixteen titles each year, approximately half in the spring and half in the fall. Our list focuses on titles related to Texas, the American West, and Latin America. The press has a particular interest in women's studies, border studies, and biography.

Book, eBook NonFiction, Fiction English
14
Yes Unknown
Haikasoru

With a small, elite list of award-winners, classics, and new work by the hottest young writers, Haikasoru is the first imprint dedicated to bringing Japanese science fiction to America and beyond. Featuring the action of anime and the thoughtfulness of the best speculative fiction, Haikasoru aims to truly be the “high castle” of science fiction and fantasy.

Book, eBook Fiction Japanese
Yes Unknown
Cactus Heart

Cactus Heart is a metaphor for how we believe literature and art should be: the perfect combination of sharp and tender. We seek work that shocks and wounds and delights, that carries joy and terror and mystery.

Print Journal Fiction, Poetry, NonFiction English
6
Yes Contributor Copies
Oberlin College Press

Oberlin College Press is a nonprofit literary press based at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio. The overall goal of the press, staffed mostly by poets who volunteer their time and student interns who wish to learn about all aspects of publishing, is to produce a periodical of high standing and notable integrity, along with books of superlative quality, with respect to design as well as literary excellence and originality. At the same time, the press strives for affordability and wide availability, keeping its publications in print and reasonably priced.

Book, Print Journal Poetry, NonFiction English
Yes Contributor Copies
Tia Chucha Press

Tia Chucha Press is one of the country’s leading small cross-cultural presses for poetry, focused on socially engaged poetry work and literature that matters. Tia Chucha Press began in 1989 with the publication of Luis J. Rodriguez’s first book, the 13-poem collection “Poems Across the Pavement,” designed by Jane Brunette of Menominee/German/French descent, who has remained as TCP designer ever since. With Jane’s artistic skills for covers and inside pages, and Luis as founding editor, the press began publishing the best collections of the thriving Chicago poetry scene – home of the Poetry Slams – featuring poets such as Patricia Smith, David Hernandez, Michael Warr, Lisa Buscani, Tony Fitzpatrick, Cin Salach, Carlos Cumpian, Elizabeth Alexander, and more.

Chapbook, Book Poetry English
Yes Contributor Copies, Token: <0.01/word
Civil Coping Mechanisms, Entropy, Enclave

CCM-Entropy is the result of newly merged Civil Coping Mechanisms and Entropy, an independent literature community and portal that includes CCM: publisher & promoter of kick-ass independent literature, Entropy: a magazine and community of contributors that publishes diverse literary and non-literary content, and Enclave: a community blog that exists as an open and central space for contributors representing different literary communities, corners, and aesthetics to express themselves openly, urgently. The portal also features a growing small press database and resources for writers. While here, we hope you’ll find what you’re looking for. Take a look around; stay awhile. We’re coping

Book, eBook Fiction, NonFiction, Poetry, Graphic Lit English
Yes Contributor Copies
Oxford University Press

At OUP, we believe in the power of the written word and the scholarship that stands behind it. Everything we publish relates directly to our mission: to support Oxford University's objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education. As a press, we take pride in this mission, which allows us to enable, support, and facilitate research and scholarship.

Book, Print Journal, eBook NonFiction English
Yes Pro: >0.15/word, Contributor Copies, Token: <0.01/word
Unicorn Press

Unicorn Press was founded in 1966 in Santa Barbara, CA, and in 1972, it moved to Greensboro, NC. By then, it was the sole responsibility of Al Brilliant, one of the three founders. Al was fortunate to have the cooperation and partnership of his spouse, the poet, novelist, and translator, Teo Savory (1907- 1989), who became Editor of the press while Al handled production and administration. During its first 46 years, Al has had the comradeship of forty young men and women who have joined in full-time, for two years or longer.

Book, Chapbook Poetry English
Yes Contributor Copies, Token: <0.01/word
John Wiley and Sons, Inc.

Founded in 1807, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., provides must-have content and services to customers worldwide. Its core businesses include scientific, technical, and medical journals, encyclopedias, books, and online products and services; professional and consumer books and subscription services; and educational materials for undergraduate and graduate students and lifelong learners.

Book, eBook NonFiction English
Yes Unknown
Cutthroat, A Journal of the Arts and Wings Press

We publish poems, short stories, occasional one act plays and book reviews. Editors are Pamela Uschuk, Beth Alvarado, William Luvaas and William Pitt Root.

Print Journal Poetry, Fiction, Drama English
2
Yes

Pages